Name: 

Taylor Zhou

Birthday: 

Sep 7, 2002

Grade: 

11

School: 

Naperville North High School

Parent Name:

Jie Zhang

Parent Phone Number:

3126238270

Street Address:

716 Sigmund Rd

City:

Naperville

State:

Other

Zip Code:

60563

Shirt Size:

Medium

Describe your tutoring experience if you have any:

I am a peer tutor at my school, so I help any tutees who walk in either before school or during my lunch hour. I was recommended to become a tutor during my freshman year, and I got accepted in the beginning of my sophomore year. I tutor any high schooler (grade 9-12) who requires assistance in any subject that I can confidently tutor in. I thoroughly enjoy being a peer tutor because I love helping others, and seeing their "Aha" moment is truly rewarding. Serving as a tutor has taught me many valuable lessons, such as being flexible, learning to think/adapt on the spot, using creative ways to find a solution, and finding the best way to teach or communicate with a stranger. Besides being a peer tutor, I have also recently applied to become a peer tutor leader! I truly love the environment and the liveliness of the Literacy Center, where the tutoring happens, because of the camaraderie and the spirit of peers helping peers, rather than teachers lecturing students.

What subjects can you confidently tutor?

Algebra I, Algebra II, Pre-Calculus, English/Language Arts, Spanish, Music

When will you be able to participate and volunteer in the program?

6/24 - 6/28, 7/1 - 7/5, 7/8 - 7/12, 7/15 - 7/19

Cumulative Weighted GPA:

4.579

Briefly introduce yourself and explain why you are interested in becoming a mentor for BranchOut!:

I'm Taylor Zhou, and I'm interested in being a mentor for BranchOut! In school, I am a peer tutor, which entails of tutoring other high schoolers in any subjects I am competent in. However, I would love to further my mentoring experience. I love working with and helping others, especially because I do believe that one of my strengths is communication. As a peer tutor, I have found that teaching someone to find a solution is extremely rewarding, and I also enjoy the challenge of finding the best way to explain a concept to others. I am particularly interested in BranchOut! because my academic strengths are more in the STEM fields, and I love the concept of peers helping peers who are of similar ages. Personally, some of my hobbies include playing instruments and creating music, playing badminton, and spending time outdoors with my friends. It would be an honor to be a BranchOut! mentor!

Reference Name:

Heather Schild

Reference Job Title:

Teacher + Academic Support

Relationship to Applicant:

Coach + Head of Peer Tutoring

Have you participated in BranchOut! before?

No, I have not participated in BranchOut before.

Interested in leadership team?

No

Payment Method:

PayPal/Credit