Name: 

Charles Wang

Birthday: 

Aug 1, 2004

Grade: 

9

School: 

Walter Johnson High School

Parent Name:

Li Zhang

Parent Phone Number:

301-339-4132

Street Address:

254 Congressional Lane, Apt. #103

City:

Rockville

State:

MD

Zip Code:

20852

Shirt Size:

Small

Describe your tutoring experience if you have any:

I have tutored in the Meizhong Chinese School Summer Camp, and I tutored mostly elementary school and middle school children. They were all somewhere between eight years old and 14 years old. During my volunteering sessions, I taught them basic Arithmetics, Algebra, and Chinese. We also focused a bit on Geometry, but that was mostly just shapes and angles. Most of my time was spent with another teacher during art class, where she would draw something on the board, and I would help trace it with other children. I also tutored at the Washington Cathay Future Center (WCFC). At WCFC, I focused a lot more on art and technology. I was placed in a sculpture class, and built my own sculptures alongside the children’s, helping them if they needed it. I also helped children in a 3D printing class with their designs. I showed them how the printer works, and how the modeling program functioned. The kids I tutored at WCFC were older, and were mostly in middle school and high school. They were all around 11 to 15 years old.

What subjects can you confidently tutor?

Algebra I, Algebra II, English/Language Arts, Art, Technology

When will you be able to participate and volunteer in the program?

7/1 - 7/5, 7/8 - 7/12

Cumulative Weighted GPA:

4.53

Briefly introduce yourself and explain why you are interested in becoming a mentor for BranchOut!:

Hello, my name is Charles Wang, and I'm a rising sophomore at Walter Johnson High School. Before high school, I was accepted into and joined the Humanities Magnet Program at Eastern Middle School. I am interested in joining this program because after my previous experiences with volunteering, I have grown more interested and enthusiastic about working with children and helping them with their needs. Branch Out! is the perfect opportunity for me, since I really love art and STEM related topics and subjects. The children in this program would have similar interests, and that would motivate me and them to further work together. In addition, this program would help me a lot with my problem solving abilities, and social skills. I know that interacting with strangers is intimidating and awkward, which is why I want to get as much exposure and practice as possible.

Reference Name:

Fedor Menchukov

Reference Job Title:

Computer Science Teacher

Relationship to Applicant:

Teacher

Have you participated in BranchOut! before?

No, I have not participated in BranchOut before.

Interested in leadership team?

No

Payment Method:

PayPal/Credit